Don’t judge me

imagesCF9GLQQO

When I say I love reading, I mean I Really Love reading. There’s nothing I’d rather be doing at any given time besides reading. It’s better than sex, eating, pooping, drinking, partying, you name it. I love doing all those things too, but I like reading more.

But one thing I don’t have an interest in, is writing about books. Ironic I know, considering the topic of this blog… Nor do I like reading about what other people think about books. For eg. I don’t follow blogs that review books. I don’t really care what your opinion is about a certain book. And I don’t follow blogs about other people who love books. I don’t see the point. And I’m not sure why.

Maybe it’s because I’m a ‘shallow’ reader. I like books that aren’t ‘deep’. I hate self help books, murder mysteries, biographies, etc. I use books to escape reality, why would I want to read about it? The whole point of reading is to get away from what’s going on around you, right?

Also, I’m very childish. I like reading about dragons and fairies and fantasy worlds. I also love Love stories. Mills and boons? Straight up my alley. I even like the occasional erotica. for some reason though, these types of books aren’t considered ‘serious’ reading by the book lovers on social media. I like Twilight and 50 shades of grey, so does that mean I’m not a serious reader?  Granted, the writing was actually quite horrific at times but I can push through that and get lost in the world of old fashioned love stories. At the same time I live Louisa May Alcott and Enid Blyton.What’s the big deal

I also don’t over analyse books. I don’t discuss the characters at length and try and work out what the author was trying to tell us about the story ‘within the story’. Maybe I’m not intelligent enough for all that but I truly believe that every book should be read at face value because every person reads and interprets differently.

Book snobs give the rest of us book lovers a bad name. Anyway, that’s my vent for the day

One thought on “Don’t judge me

  1. I also don’t like reading reviews. You can tell me whether you thought it was good or bad but then you can stop there because I won’t pay attention to the rest of what you’re saying. I can form my own opinion thank you very much

Leave a Reply

