Good things

A few weeks ago I blogged about someone telling me that I won’t get anywhere unless I decided on what I wanted and where I wanted to go with my career. At the time I had no idea what the answer to that question was and I was full of doubts as I didn’t even have a starting point. It turns out, that all I needed was to be faced with that problem and my consciousness did the rest. All I knew was that I liked to write, I like to speak, I like to motivate and that I’m good with people. Since then so many things have happened that I’m quite blown away.

A few months ago I was approached on LinkedIn by an editor of a magazine in my industry. It’s aimed at Executive Assistants, PA’s and administrators. As an EA myself it was nice to see someone focus on us for a change. The editor and I got to talking and she asked me to be a contributor to the magazine. I fired off a story and she loved it. Needless to say, I was thrilled. It’s been years since I’ve had anything in print and it felt good to have my little words appreciated again. The problem is that since she’s funding the magazine herself so it’s taking longer than she hoped to get it of the ground. After a few weeks the excitement wore of and I actually completely forgot about the whole thing.

Anyway, a few weeks ago she invited to me to a networking breakfast that she’s having to introduce the magazine to the market and in the same breath she asks me to be a guest speaker at the event! I was gobsmacked. She’s of the opinion that I’m a good speaker and that I can bring positive messages to the target market. At the time that she asked me to do this I had been thinking about making changes within my company regarding empowering of EA’s and PA’s. Her request gave me the opportunity to think about it more.

At the same time I get a random invite to a entrepreneurship/business conference. I think I ended up on the invite list by mistake. It was definitely an interesting event but one that I can’t afford to go to. So I reply back and say that I’d like to attend, I’m not one of the power business men that they seem to be targeting. Imagine my surprise when the organizer replies to invite me as his guest at no cost! The two of us go to chatting via email and long story short, I have arranged to showcase the magazine at his event, also at no cost. He also wants me to represent the magazine from a media and marketing point of view at the event.

At the same time, I’ve been speaking to my boss about everything that is happening and he is being very supportive. He has agreed to sponsor the other EA’s in my department and has agreed to support me in my effort to empower and up skill them. I have no idea how all this happened but it just sort of fell in to place. It was almost as if, once I had the made the decision that I’d like to continue my writing in some way, opportunities started coming my way. I’m not sure where all of this is going but any movement is good at the moment.

I’m incredibly excited and I feel positive and motivated. It’s a feeling that I’ve missed because it’s been so long since I had something to drive me. I’ve been filled with self doubt for so long that I don’t think I’ve been open to any new opportunities. It makes me wonder how much I’ve actually been sabotaging myself. I always thought it was BS but it looks like I need to make a mindset change…

Leave a Reply

