Of Health and worries

You know the old saying “you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone”? Well I’ve certainly had to learn that the hard way. I’m talking about my health. I didn’t know how healthy and happy I was until I got sick and ended up in hospital last week. Definitely not something I’m going to take for granted again!

It was a normal Monday morning, lots to do, running around to meetings and all the rest except that I just wasn’t feeling myself. I kept getting these random odd moments of dizziness but they passed so quickly I didn’t pay much attention. In hindsight, I should have paid have listened to what my body was trying to tell me. One moment I’m walking along the corridor and the next I’m walking up on the floor surrounded by people! Then I’m in a car and then I’m in hospital. This happened over the span of about two hours but I kept losing consciousness and no one knew why. It was pretty damn scary! Thank goodness I was at the office and not in a public place.

The docs say that it was because some muscle was overactive caused by a viral infection. I was booked off for a week but in that week I developed a cough. One week later I went back to the hospital and I was admitted with bronchial pneumonia. How the heck did that happen? I was in for a week and it was a week from hell. Especially being separated from my 2 year old.

I’m much better now but I still don’t have a lot of strength. I have to take it really easy, just a quick walk leaves me out of breath and by the time I get home in the evenings I’m exhausted. The doc warned that it’ll take me a few weeks to regain my full strength and that’s pretty daunting. I’ll be honest, I’m pretty lazy but not wanting to do something and being unable to do it are two vastly different things. I couldn’t even bath on my own!!!

The lessons learnt were many. Firstly, I need to pay attention to my own needs more. Secondly, I have a huge support structure and many people who care about me. And thirdly, I’m stronger than I thought.

Leave a Reply

