Grow up!

Pimply faces, lack of confidence, awkwardness, arrogance, enthusiasm, rearing hormones, naiveté, confusion, irrational emotions- just a few of the words I can think of to describe teenagers. When I look back at my teenage life I’m so glad that it’s over! Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed (mostly) that time of my life, I’ve got lots of good memories to remind me of how awesome that time was but I’d never want to relive that period. That feeling of never knowing what to do next, of being constantly awkward and at war with yourself, I hate that feeling. I couldn’t wait to be an adult, to be a ‘grown-up’, to be mature and confident and to wow the world with my abilities.
It’s definitely not how I pictured it but it is easier. I’m much more confident now, I know who I am and I like myself unlike before. Something’s never change though, I’m still sometimes unsure of what I’m doing or decisions that I make but I don’t think that will ever change. Why would I want to give up the growth that I’ve worked so hard for just to go back to being that awkward child?
The reason I’m lamenting on my youth is because I feel like I’m being hauled back there. My best friend has turned into a teenager! This past weekend I spent a lot of time with her and by Sunday evening I was exhausted. She’s a high school teacher so she’s always telling me about a new ‘cool’ song or artist and I am just never interested. Sometimes she hits me with my how out of style my shoes or top or jeans is. Really? But all of this I can handle, it’s the whole emotional phase that she’s going through that’s killing me.
Last year she had her heart broken and she’s gone downhill from there. She gets drunk and gets stupid. I swear, her IQ drops by like a 100 points when she’s had a few whiskeys. And I’m losing patience fast. She’ll end up crying and everyone needs to console her for the next few hours which is a serious buzz kill. I know I sound harsh considering she’s my best friend but I just don’t know what to do anymore. She becomes childish and irritating and I don’t know how to handle her.
I’m not exactly the most mature of people out there. I’m still young and naïve to an extent and I’ve got lots of living and learning to do. I like having fun as much as the next person but I like my fun a little less emotional and more… Fun! Crying over a bottle of wine is not my idea of fun anymore. I suppose we’re just in different levels of our lives these days. You’d think I’d be more understanding because I was once in the same space as her except I was 19 when I was doing this!
Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with this? I’m thinking I just grin and bear it. I don’t want to tell her how I feel because I don’t want to hurt her feelings and I want to try and support her through this. We have a history like no other so I don’t want to jeopardise our friendship in anyway.

9 thoughts on “Grow up!

  1. Sit her down and speak to her about it. You know how they always say it’s better to tell your friend the truth instead of her hearing it from someone else. I know it’s easier said than done but it’s worth a shot isn’t it?

  2. Talk very openly to her. You have had more than your fair share of alcoholism in your surrounding with your father. If she does not change, you should consider ending that friendship even if that hurts.

    1. It’s not alcoholism actually, its just that she gets very emotional when she does drink and that’s the part that’s getting to me. My biggest fear is losing her friendship, she means the world to me and she’s been very supportive to me when I needed her. I guess I just need to man up and tell her how I feel!

  3. When folk see a boring and irritating drunk the thought normally comes to mind “shit I hope I never turn out like that”. Next time she is planning to visit, invite the most boring and irritating drunk you know, might set her thnking.

  4. Well, what do you expect?
    She’s surrounded by teenagers – not as if she has actual adult conversations anymore!! And she’s not been in the real world quite yet, I mean, she’s been at school for the past 30 years!
    I would tell her to grow a pair, and stop drinking – nobody likes a teary drunk. Well, not all the time in any case. And never a woman!
    Yet another reason why I likely don’t have friends – I would have told her off after probably only the second time she snivelled 😉

    1. he he he I can’t do tough love cos there were many times where she helped me through some teary eyed moments!
      thanks for the advice though, maybe I’ll get trashed and blurt it all out

Leave a Reply

