Moody monday

I’m standing there, watching sis mouth move up and down, looking at his eyes and I can practically see the lies floating in the air towards me. I know he’s lying, he knows he’s lying but no one else in the room does. He says it with such confidence that I wonder for a second if he actually believes everything that he’s saying. I begin doubt myself. As he continues talking I feel my shock turn into anger. I deal with my anger by crying, I can’t help it. It took all of my strength to not allow the tears to stream down my face. My hands were shaking and I had to clutch them into a tight fist to prevent anyone from seeing.

I’m talking about my boss. He tends to make silly decisions based on his mood at the time and then a few weeks later it tends to bit him in the ass. He’s not really the type of person who takes accountability for his actions, he’d rather blame others and that’s usually his staff. Since he’s started working here 6 people have left and he’s fired 2, 1 lady who was with the company for 25 years and was set to retire this year. Anyway, one of his bad decisions has cost the company R100 000 and guess who he’s blaming? Lucky I’ve got proof to back myself up but I’m sure he’ll find a way around it.

Usually we get along pretty well but recently he’s been terrible. I’m not sure if he’s having personal issues but he’s very moody and I’ve learnt to stay out of his way most of the time. I’m reaching the stage where I’m dreading leaving home in the morning. The very thought of coming to this office makes me so depressed that I sometimes consider faking an illness and taking a sick day. Lucky I haven’t reached that stage yet and I hope I don’t. I do have to give him his dues, I’m not the type of employee he’s used to, I jump when he says so, I refuse to be his tea lady and I refuse to back to down if I know I’m in the right. I take accountability for my fcuk-ups but I also want acknowledgement when it’s due. I’m not very traditional but I like the way I am.

My boss is a bully, he doesn’t listen to what you have to say and he talks over you. Time and again he’s made a decision based on his own opinion and not what’s the best course of action. He has this plastic pipe in his office that he threatens me (in a joking way which I don’t find funny) with all the time and I get so defensive when he does. He stands across his desk and reaches out and pushes this bloody thing on my face. I can explain how intimidating that is! I hate that he makes me react that way. I’ve learnt to deal with his moods and move on but now it seems like my job is in jeopardy.

He’s an intelligent man and he didn’t get so high up the food chain by being stupid, that’s what scares me. My worst fear is being fired, it’s never happened to me before and I don’t think my pride could handle it. So I’ve decided to not to anything about him, all I can do is look for another job. He’s the type that will find a way to get rid of me. I can’t go to HR either because they’re pretty good friends so I know I won’t get anywhere. I’ve never been the type to back down so I’m very confused right now. But if you stand up to him he’ll just beat you down. I’ve learnt that the best way to deal with him is to just do what he says and take the inevitable negative consequences.

I’m not usually so negative but I’m losing my confidence here and I’m scared. I don’t know what to do and I have to vent somehow.

20 thoughts on “Moody monday

  1. This is absolutely nonsense. You should not have to put up with this behaviour from a so-called superior. Isn’t there somebody else besides HR to approach regarding this? Surely he has someone he has to report to? Maybe go straight to the CEO of the company? Maybe a few of your co-workers can join you in a complaint about him? Most companies have an ombudsman. Even the CCMA?

    1. I wish there was, this company is very old school, they believe that a business is a dictatorship and not a democracy. Everyone is too afraid of losing their jobs to stand up to Management because the Execs stand together on any point.

      1. How long have you been working there? Old school can change too. These days, in fact, they can be forced to by law. Did you know the CCMA works with employee issues within the work environment? One needs quite a bit of courage though and it takes up a lot of energy. I went through a process with a former employer and the CCMA. They actually are quite good. Maybe even just speak to them to inform yourself of your rights. It’s not a privilege to work for an employer. They should be grateful as well, to have you as an employee. You or any other that is worth their salt. There also is such a thing as imagining ‘the old school’ standing together. Do a bit research and you may be surprised at the amount of dissatisfaction you find.

        1. I know that I don’t have the guts to go through a formal process, which is why I’ve ended up in this situation. I should have done something about what he was doing a long time ago but I was too scared of losing my job, ironic since that’s exactly where I am now! But at least this way I get to keep my head high

          1. Okay, if that’s how you feel. It’s the sort of thing that makes me very cross. Just: do you realise that your reaction as above is exactly what these bullies are expecting and therefore can carry on without fear of being exposed. I hope you get a better job soon.

            1. I know and I wish I could take a stand but I do know that they’ll get their just desserts. Thank you for the advice though, I do appreciate all the support

              1. Bosses like that shouldn’t get away with their nonsense. It’s a misuse of power. Good luck in your endeavours to find a better position some place else.

  2. No offence, but he sounds like a prick… maybe start looking for something else? Don’t be in a rush, but get your CV ready and start taking it slow. *Big hug*

        1. I did view the positions but couldn’t apply for the jobs for some reason, the site kept throwing me out but I’ve sent an email to HR. Thank you for your help!

  3. That’s not good Ric!!!
    Why does ha have to be such an ass?
    I, myself, have given up with bosses. They don’t seem to realise what’s potting.
    As for the pipe, next time he pushes it into your face, take a picture and tell him that, maybe, he should think before doing it again… That has to have some or other legal thing attached to it.

    1. I’m pretty sure it should fall under victimisation or something cos it terrifies me but I need my job so I can’t afford to say anything. I just hope his current mood tides over or I get another job pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

