Change is as good as a holiday

Washing, cooking, financial reports, patience, understanding, ovulation counts, oven cleaning, chicken pie, payroll, budgeting and hair loss are just some of the very few things that I have learnt about and/or learnt to do in the past year. Looking back I think I’ve learnt more about myself and the world in general in 1 year than I have my whole life put together.

The reason I’m reflecting on myself and my life and the past is because one of my very good friends is getting hitched. I’ve known about it for a while but Saturday was the last time I would get together with him without his soon to be wife around. She is moving in with him today and they will probably get married in the next few weeks.  I’ve been friends with him for about 15 years and we’ve gone through a lot together. I’m happy that he’s finally settling down however I can’t help but feel a pang of regret at how things will change now or at how our relationship will change.

I’ve looked back at the past year alone and how much I’ve changed. I think I’ve become a stronger, better person. I’ve definitely become a better wife and house wife! Who knew a washing machine could be such a complicated contraption? Or that I’d make one mean baked cheese cake? Or that you need to buy oven cleaner to clean your oven. Or that cysts on your ovaries can cause hair loss and weight gain? Or that managing people is much more effort than the money is worth? Now I know all this and so much more! I know that my husband does truly adore and love me as much as he says he does. I know that I have no patience for weepy people anymore. I know that I’ve become a better writer. I know that my parents aren’t immortal like I’ve thought my whole life.

I’m not so naïve anymore which is a shame. I’ve begun to analyse people and situations in a somewhat critical way and that makes me uncomfortable but there’s nothing that I can do about that. But you’ve got to take the good with the bad.

I’m glad that I’m able to stand back and appreciate all these changes though. One of my fears is that year after year will go by and 10, 20, 30 years from now I’d look back and wonder where all the time is gone. So I shall take, absorb and appreciate as much as I can and hopefully 10 years from now I can go back onto this blog and read all about my life, the good, the bad and the beautiful.

 

14 thoughts on “Change is as good as a holiday

  1. The only advice I can give to you is to never stop working on your education. I am now 51 and I have started studying again (in a distance learning university). Education expands your options, your possibilities, your thinking. It makes life more interesting and will fill your years with interesting stuff.

    1. I didn’t appreciate how important it was to study while I was in tertiary. Now that I’m a bit more grounded I don’t know what I want to study, but I am doing my research. thanks for the nudge 🙂

      1. I joined the local library and searched around there, reading different things, until it was clear to me which direction I wanted to take. Take your time.

  2. Reflection is good.
    It takes a bit of introspection to find out that you’re not as stagnant as you thought you were.
    I’m thinking I need to get out of my rut – just have no idea in which direction I need to go.
    Maybe I should go and do an Arabic language course and go work in Saudi!

Leave a Reply

