So long and thanks for all the fish

So it’s officially my last working day for the year! Whoop whoop! Today just can’t go fast enough. I’m on leave for three weeks, three weeks of waking up when I please and having to answer to no one. Three weeks of no stress or anxiety, three weeks of not having to deal with other people’s bull shit and tantrums. Three weeks of not having to put on a fake smile and act happy when I’m not. Three weeks of bliss!

I don’t have much planned, we were supposed to go away to see family this long weekend but my family’s home was destroyed in the recent storm and they are dealing with a whole lot of stress that we’ll only make worse. My husband (the selfish ass) has not taken leave this December so we can’t even go anywhere for a few days. It basically means that I’m all by my lonesome. Both my sisters and my parents are on holiday and all my friends are either away on holiday or working as well. Not good news for me cos I get irritable when I’m alone for too long. I suppose I should stop whining and make the best of the situation. Being alone is hardly the worst thing I could be dealing with at the moment, at least I don’t my bosses to deal with!

Wow, my post seems bipolar! Lol

Usually I’d post some sort of reflection on the past year and what I’ve learnt but I’m so not feeling deep enough for that. I’m feeling morosely happy if that term can be used.

I’ve made a whole list of things that I could do but I know all I’ll end up doing is reading the whole day. Lol I think I’m gona spoil myself this weekend and go get a bunch of books to keep me going for the holidays. I doubt I’ll be able to blog much cos Hubby’s laptop is too bloody complicated to use so unfortunately I’ll be out of touch for the rest of the year.

I hope that everyone has a wonderful festive period. In SA this is usually the time when the country winds down and gets to shopping and partying so please rest, recuperate and recover from the past year. Spend lots of time with your loved ones and have a great New Year!!

8 thoughts on “So long and thanks for all the fish

  1. Hope you will soon be back in the blogosphere. I am starting to get withdrawal symptoms. Missing your funny and refreshing articles 🙂

  2. What you suspect to be stupidity might be wisdom instead 🙂
    Greetings from Cameroon (at least we are on the same continent now)

  3. Chickpea – you don’t NEED any other kind of holiday than parking off on a couch, or a towel, or the grass, or a hammock, or at a coffee shop, reading all day long 😉
    Have a good one – see you in the new year!!

Leave a Reply

