The grinch who stole Christmas

This morning I was rocking Boney M’s Christmas hits on the way to work. Singing along to them put me in such a good mood and set the tone for the rest of the day. I absolutely love this time of year! This this ‘feeling’ in the air that I thrive on. Maybe it’s the fact that we get a good break over the festive period, or because there’s so many things to look forward or maybe beause of all the end of year functions I attend!

I usually take two or three weeks off work and during this time I do anything my heart desires. From staying in bed till 13:00 in the afternoon and reading to going out for parties with my friends on a wednesday. I cook fabulous meals and get my hair done and buy stunning shoes and all them good things. I absolutely love Christmas morning and the lunch with family and tree and lights and presents. If I’m in a shopping centre I’ll be the one singing along to all the cheesy Christmas carols.

What I can’t understand is how people can be haters of the festive season. All around me I hear people moan and groan about the decorations in the malls or hundreds of Christmas movies on TV. The amount of times I’ve heard the ‘Christmas is just a commercial ploy’ speech makes me sick. Christmas is only commercial if You make it commercial! Come on! The only reason marketers make so much money at this time is because there’s so many people willing to spend!

Aside from everyone being in a holiday mode there’s also the significance of Christmas itself, how can they possibly forget that! I never celebrated before but my husband is Christian so we go to church now and I love it. I don’t understand how people can be mean spirited at this time of year.

Granted, I get incredibly annoyed with all the traffic in the malls and I get soooo irritated by the 500 ad’s on TV giving poor Santa a bad rep but other than that I’m good. It’s almost as if people look for a reason to complain about something. Like it’s cool to hate Christmas. And even if you don’t celebrate Christmas, it’s still a wonderful time of year. The time to wind down from 11 months of stress, to meet up with family and friends, to go on holiday or just be crazy.

What’s with humanity that they have to find the worst in every situation??

5 thoughts on “The grinch who stole Christmas

  1. I like Christmas. I avoid the mauls at all costs, and I don’t even have a TV, but I see the lights on some of the houses, and I have loads of Christmas music on my drive, like the idea of making my family gifts.
    The only thing not to like is the anticlimax ;-). After the church has happened and the beautiful songs sung, and the food eaten – such a sad day to be over.

Leave a Reply

